COVID-19

With the spread of Covid-19, my professional organizations and our government are now insisting that ALL non-urgent surgeries (both in the public and private sectors) be postponed for the time being, until the coronavirus crisis is under control. Therefore, we have to postpone all planned operation until the restrictions are lifted.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience to you but hope that you understand the goals: to save resources, which are needed urgently elsewhere, for example in intensive care and emergency medicine; to protect you as our patient; and to protect personnel.

In the meantime, Dr. Nicolaidis will continue to see patients via FaceTime or Skype. For postoperative emergencies, he will consider whether it is necessary to see the patient in person.

For the time being, we urge you to follow all of Mr. Legault’s recommendations regarding quarantine and isolation. This is an unprecedented period of history. Most people will lose money, some will lose their jobs, and worse yet some will lose loved ones. The resulting stress, the anxiety of being in quarantine and the uncertainty about the future are having a huge negative effect on our individual mental status. We are all facing this challenge together. We encourage you to develop healthy daily routines with your family, exercise and get some fresh air when you can. Although it is important to keep yourself informed, following sensational news constantly can lead to increased anxiety.

When this is over, please rest assured that we will remain available to take care of you. In the meantime, please take care of yourself and your loved ones and please act responsibly for our community.

Frequently asked questions

Why don’t you have before and after photos on this site ?

The College des Medecins du Quebec does not permit the use of before and after photographs. However, pre- and post-operative photos can be seen at the clinic during your consultation.

Can I have more than one operation at the same time ?

Up to a point. Dr. Nicolaidis is very conservative. The longer the operative time, the higher the risk of complications. Multiple operations at the same time can be discussed during your visit.

Should I lose weight before my operation ?

In general, better results can be achieved if you are close to your “ideal weight” before surgery. If you lose plenty of weight after body contouring surgery, the skin we just tightened might get loose again ! Nevertheless, if you just can’t lose weight, there are options. These can be discussed at your visit.

If I’m a smoker, will you operate on me ?

Yes, IF you can stop all forms of nicotine at least 2 weeks before your procedure. Dr. Nicolaidis can prescribe a patch if that can help you. Studies show that smoking increases anesthetic risks and impairs post-operative healing.

Can I undergo body contouring surgery if I still want to have children ?

Best results are achieved if you’re finished having children. The breast engorgement and tummy stretching of pregnancy will obviously compromise many body contouring procedures. Breast surgery can often impair a woman’s ability to breast feed afterward ; therefore, if breast feeding is important to you, breast surgery should be postponed. And clearly, a tummy tuck is not a good idea if you are going to stretch that very same skin with a baby ! However, liposuction and surgery on the arms and legs can be considered provided you realize the limitations.

Once you are done having children, you may be an ideal candidate for breast and body contouring. A breast lift can correct droopy breasts while a tummy tuck can improve loose skin in the belly. Dr. Nicolaidis will be happy to discuss the various options with you.

If I have medical problems, can I still have surgery ?

Up to a point. Dr. Nicolaidis is very conservative. And this is elective surgery. If the medical problems are not excessive, conservative procedures may be considered. Dr. Nicolaidis can also arrange to perform the surgery in a hospital setting if an overnight stay is required or there are medical concerns.

COVID-19

Avec la propagation du Covid-19, mes organisations professionnelles et notre gouvernement insistent maintenant pour que TOUTES les chirurgies non urgentes (dans les secteurs public et privé) soient reportées pour le moment, jusqu’à ce que la crise du coronavirus soit sous contrôle. Par conséquent, nous devons reporter toutes les opérations prévues jusqu’à la levée de la restriction.

Nous sommes désolés pour tout inconvénient que cette situation puisse engendrer, mais espérons que vous comprenez les objectifs: économiser les ressources, qui sont nécessaires, par exemple en soins intensifs et en médecine d’urgence; pour vous protéger en tant que patient; et pour protéger le personnel.

Entre-temps, Dr Nicolaidis continuera de voir ses patients via FaceTime ou Skype. Pour les urgences post opératoires, il déterminera s’il est nécessaire de voir le patient en personne.

Pour le moment, nous vous prions de suivre toutes les recommandations de M. Legault concernant la mise en quarantaine et l’isolement. Il s’agit d’une période historique sans précédent. La plupart des gens perdront de l’argent, certains perdront leur emploi et, pire encore, certains perdront des êtres chers. Le stress qui en résulte, l’angoisse d’être en quarantaine et l’incertitude sur l’avenir ont un énorme effet négatif sur notre état mental individuel. C’est ensemble que nous relèverons ce défi. Nous vous encourageons à développer des routines quotidiennes saines avec votre famille, à faire de l’exercice et à prendre un peu d’air frais lorsque vous le pouvez. Bien qu’il soit important de vous tenir informé, suivre constamment des nouvelles sensationnelles peut entraîner une anxiété accrue.

Lorsque cela sera terminé, soyez assuré que nous demeurerons disponibles pour prendre soin de vous. En attendant, nous vous encourageons à prendre soin de vous et de vos proches et d’agir de manière responsable pour notre communauté.

Foire aux questions

Est-ce que je peux subir plus qu’une opération à la fois ?

Il est possible de combiner deux opérations mais Dr Nicolaidis est très conservateur à ce niveau là. Plus la chirurgie est longue, plus il y a des risques de complications. Cette option peut être examinée durant votre visite.

Est-ce que je devrais perdre du poids avant mon opération ?

En général, de meilleurs résultats peuvent être obtenus si vous êtes près de votre « poids idéal » avant la chirurgie. Si vous perdez beaucoup de poids après votre chirurgie d’abdominoplastie, la peau que nous venons de raffermir peut devenir desserrée à nouveau ! Par contre, il existe des options si vous ne pouvez tout simplement pas perdre du poids. Celles-ci pourront être examinées lors de votre visite.

Si je fume, est-ce vous accepterez de m’opérer ?

Oui, si vous cessez de consommer toute forme de nicotine au moins 2 semaines avant votre procédure. Si cela peut vous aider, Dr Nicolaidis peut prescrire un timbre à la nicotine. Les études démontrent que le tabagisme augmente les risques anesthésiques et affecte la guérison post opératoire.

Si je souffre de problèmes médicaux, est-ce que je peux quand même avoir une chirurgie ?

Jusqu’à un certain point. Dr Nicolaidis est très conservateur et il s’agit d’une opération chirurgicale non urgente. Si les problèmes médicaux ne sont pas excessifs, une chirurgie conservatrice peut être considérée. Si une nuitée est nécessaire, Dr Nicolaidis peut faire en sorte que la chirurgie soit exécutée dans un environnement hospitalier.

Ma chirurgie esthétique est-elle déductible d’impôt ?

Veuillez noter, que tant au niveau provincial que fédéral, les procédures esthétique en chirurgie plastique ne sont pas déductibles. Bien qu’il y ait quelques années de cela la situation était différente, désormais, seules les procédures nécessaires à des fins médicales s’avèrent déductibles d’impôt, ce qui n’est pas le cas pour les procédures esthétiques.

Au provincial (IN-130) :

“Les frais payés pour des services fournis à des fins purement esthétiques  ne sont pas des frais médicaux admissibles. Ces services sont d’ailleurs  taxables, car ils ne sont pas jugés nécessaires sur le plan médical.”

Au fédéral (RC4064) :

“Les interventions esthétiques, y compris les dépenses connexes, effectuées après le 4 mars 2010 sont admissibles à titre des frais médicaux seulement si elles sont exigées à des fins médicales ou restauratrices.” Voir guide RC4064